Conversation 088-001

On January 24, 1972, during the signing of the 1973 Budget Message, President Richard M. Nixon and staff members of the Office of Management and Budget, including Samuel M. Cohn, Mark W. Alger, Charles E. Benton, David Bray, Lawrence Breese, Velma N. Baldwin, Philip Dame, Donald A. Derman, Lynn Etheredge, C. William Fischer, James M. Frey, Wilmer Hunt, John F. Hurley, Walter W. Haase, Joseph Laitin, Susanne Lind, Hugh F. Loweth, Theodore C. Lutz, C. Peter Modlin, Jr., Philip MacDonald, Dale R. McOmber, Douglas Norwood, Wilfred H. Rommel, Wesley K. Sasaki, Glenn R. Schleede, Julius Shiskin, Richard Stubbing, Reardon Sullivan, Daniel H. Taft, Barbara Torrey, James D. Tschirigi, Milton Turen, Ellis H. Veatch, Joyce Walker, Charles Kraus, Frank C. Carlucci, III, and Raymond Clarke; and possibly William H. Kohlberg, William A. Niskanen, William H. Taft, IV, David P. Taylor, George P. Shultz, Caspar W. ("Cap") Weinberger, Arthur B. Laffer, William L. Gifford, Charles R. Perry, Dwight A. Ink, Kenneth W. Dam, Donald B. Rice, and Paul H. O'Neill, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House at an unknown time between 10:04 am and 11:59 pm. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 088-001 of the White House Tapes.

Audio is being processed, please check at a later time.

Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log