Conversation 873-001

On March 8, 1973, President Richard M. Nixon, Ronald A. Sarasin, Edward R. Madigan, John B. Conlan, Marjorie S. Holt, George M. O'Brien, Clair W. Burgener, L. A. ("Skip") Bafalis, Samuel H. Young, William M. Ketchum, Steven D. Symms, James P. ("Jim") Johnson, William H. Hudnut, III, Robert J. Huber, Paul W. Cronin, Benjamin A. Gilman, Tennyson Guyer, John A. Proven, Robin L. Beard, James G. Martin, Matthew J. Rinaldo, James Abdnor, Edward Young, Stanford E. Parris, David Towell, William F. Walsh, Robert W. Daniel, Jr., Angelo D. Roncallo, E. G. ("Bud") Shuster, Harold V. Froehlich, William E. Timmons, M. Caldwell Butler, Ralph S. Regula, Donald J. Mitchell, and Trent Lott met in the Oval Office of the White House at an unknown time between 5:01 pm and 5:52 pm. The Oval Office taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 873-001 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log