Conversation 628-019

On December 2, 1971, President Richard M. Nixon, Earl L. Butz, Harry A. Blackmun, William P. Rogers, George D. Aiken, Lawton M. Chiles, Jr., Robert J. Dole, James O. Eastland, Robert P. Griffin, Jack R. Miller, Wiley Mayne, Graham Purcell, Martin Sorkin, J. Philip Campbell, Clarence D. Palmby, Richard E. Lyng, Thomas K. Cowden, Ned Bayley, Frank Elliott, Claude W. Gifford, Fritz Behren, James E. Smith, David A. Hamil, Ervin Peterson, Don Brock, Sally Bloom, Martha Lord, Frederic V. Malek, H. R. ("Bob") Haldeman, Clark MacGregor, John E. Nidecker, William E. Timmons, John C. Whitaker, Alexander P. Butterfield, White House photographer, and members of the press met in the Oval Office of the White House from 5:15 pm to 5:35 pm. The Oval Office taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 628-019 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log