Conversation 111-003

On January 24, 1973, President Richard M. Nixon and bipartisan Congressional leaders, including Michael J. ("Mike") Mansfield, Robert C. Byrd, John C. Stennis, John L. McClellan, J. William Fulbright, Henry M. ("Scoop") Jackson, Gale W. McGee, Hugh Scott, Robert P. Griffin, Strom Thurmond, Milton R. Young, George D. Aiken, John G. Tower, Barry M. Goldwater, John J. McFall, Gerald R. Ford, George H. Mahon, Dr. Thomas E. ("Doc") Morgan, Samuel S. Stratton, Joe D. Waggonner, Jr., Leslie C. Arends, William G. Bray, Elford A. Cederberg, William S. Mailliard, Samuel L. Devine, Jack F. Kemp, as well as William E. Timmons, Ronald L. Ziegler, Thomas C. Korologos, and the White House photographer, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House from 8:36 am to 10:49 am. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 111-003 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log