Joint Chiefs of Staff

Conversation 068-007

Audio is being processed, please check at a later time.

On August 10, 1971, President Richard M. Nixon, the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and staffers, including Vice President Spiro T. Agnew, Melvin R. Laird, David Packard, Adm. Thomas H. Moorer, Gen. John D. Ryan, Gen. William C. Westmoreland, Gen. Leonard F. Chapman, Jr., Adm. Elmo R. Zumwalt, Jr., Brig. Gen. Alexander M. Haig, Jr., and the White House photographer, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House at an unknown time between 9:14 am and 11:54 am. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 068-007 of the White House Tapes.

Tape Subject Log