Conversation 107-001

On August 8, 1972, President Richard M. Nixon and Republican Congressional leaders, including Caspar W. ("Cap") Weinberger, Herbert Stein, Hugh Scott, Robert P. Griffin, Norris Cotton, Gordon L. Allott, Peter H. Dominick, Wallace F. Bennett, Milton R. Young, Gerald R. Ford, Leslie C. Arends, John J. Rhodes, Samuel L. Devine, H. Allen Smith, Robert C. ("Bob") Wilson, Barber B. Conable, Jr., Frank T. Bow, John W. Byrnes, Richard H. Poff, Robert J. Dole, Clark MacGregor, John D. Ehrlichman, Gerald L. Warren, Richard K. Cook, Thomas C. Korologos, Harry S. Dent, Patrick J. Buchanan, Herbert G. Klein, Kenneth R. Cole, Jr., and William L. Gifford, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House at an unknown time between 8:02 am and 10:11 am. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 107-001 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log