Conversation 083-003

On November 16, 1971, President Richard M. Nixon, John B. Connally, Donald H. Rumsfeld, and Republican Congressional leaders, including Hugh Scott, Robert P. Griffin, Peter H. Dominick, Gerald R. Ford, Leslie C. Arends, John B. Anderson, Samuel L. Devine, Richard H. Poff, John J. Rhodes, Robert C. ("Bob") Wilson, H. Allen Smith, Robert J. Dole, John D. Ehrlichman, George P. Shultz, Clark MacGregor, Harry S. Dent, William E. Timmons, Richard K. Cook, Eugene S. Cowen, Patrick J. Buchanan, and Ronald L. Ziegler, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House at an unknown time between 12:00 am and 10:15 am. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 083-003 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL