Conversation 062-002

On June 17, 1971, President Richard M. Nixon and members of the National Security Council, including Vice President Spiro T. Agnew, William P. Rogers, Melvin R. Laird, John B. Connally, Gen. George A. Lincoln, John N. Mitchell, David Packard, Richard M. Helms, Adm. Thomas H. Moorer, Gerard C. Smith, Philip J. Farley, John N. Irwin, II, Martin J. Hillenbrand, Henry A. Kissinger, Dr. K. Wayne Smith, Helmut ("Hal") Sonnenfeldt, and William Newton, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House at an unknown time between 9:48 am and 11:59 pm. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 062-002 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log