Conversation 126-002

On June 13, 1973, President Richard M. Nixon, Vice President Spiro T. Agnew, George P. Shultz, Herbert Stein, John T. Dunlop, and bipartisan Congressional leaders, including Michael J. ("Mike") Mansfield, Hugh Scott, Robert P. Griffin, John G. Tower, Russell B. Long, Wallace F. Bennett, William Proxmire, Jacob K. Javits, Milton R. Young, Carl B. Albert, Thomas P. ("Tip") O'Neill, Jr., Gerald R. Ford, Leslie C. Arends, Wright Patman, William B. Widnall, Herman T. Schneebeli, Roy L. Ash, Alexander M. Haig, Jr., Ronald L. Ziegler, Kenneth R. Cole, Jr., William E. Timmons, Thomas C. Korologos, Max L. Friedersdorf, John J. McFall, and members of the press, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House from 5:42 pm to 6:52 pm. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 126-002 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log