Conversation 062-001

On June 17, 1971, President Richard M. Nixon and bipartisan Congressional leaders, including Harrison A. Williams, Jr., Roman L. Hruska, George D. Aiken, Allen J. Ellender, Milton R. Young, Strom Thurmond, Warren G. ("Maggie") Magnuson, Carl B. Albert, [Thomas] Hale Boggs, Gerald R. Ford, Albert H. Quie, Emanuel Celler, Richard H. Poff, F. Edward Hébert, Leslie C. Arends, F. Edward Hébert, George H. Mahon, Olin E. ("Tiger") Teague, Paul G. Rogers, William L. Springer, Egil ("Bud") Krogh, Jr., William E. Timmons, John D. Ehrlichman, Jeffrey Donfeld, Ronald L. Ziegler, Herbert G. Klein, and Dr. Jerome H. Jaffe, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House at an unknown time between 7:55 am and 3:37 pm. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 062-001 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log