Conversation 056-004

On May 11, 1971, President Richard M. Nixon, Vice President Spiro T. Agnew, and members of the Cabinet, including William P. Rogers, John B. Connally, John H. Chafee, John N. Mitchell, Winton M. ("Red") Blount, Jr., Rogers C. B. Morton, Clifford M. Hardin, Maurice H. Stans, James D. Hodgson, Elliot L. Richardson, George W. Romney, John A. Volpe, David M. Kennedy, George P. Shultz, Robert H. Finch, Donald C. Rumsfeld, George H. W. Bush, John D. Ehrlichman, Clark MacGregor, Peter M. Flanigan, Peter G. Peterson, Dr. Edward E. David, Jr., Raymond K. Price, Jr., Alexander P. Butterfield, Ronald L. Ziegler, Robert J. Brown, and Arthur J. Sohmer, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House at an unknown time between 8:02 am and 9:45 am. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 056-004 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log