FG 363 (Consumer Product Safety Commission) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)


These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear measurement of materials:   < 1 in.
  • Number of pages:   99
Organizational Note

The Consumer Product Safety Commission was established under the Consumer Product Safety Act of 1972, P. L. 92-573, dated October 27, 1972, as an independent regulatory commission.
The Commission was created to protect the public against unreasonable risks of injury associated with consumer products; assist consumer in evaluating the comparative safety of consumer products; develop uniform safety standards for consumer products and minimize conflicting state and local regulations concerning these products. In addition, the Commission is charged with maintaining an injury Information Clearinghouse to collect, analyze and disseminate data relating to causes and prevention of accidents involving consumer products. The Commission also conducts and promotes  research on product safety and safety testing methods and it offers training to public and private organizations in the development and use of safety standards and testing devices.

The Commission consists of five members appointed by the President and approved by the Senate. Members are appointed for overlapping terms of seven years and no more than three members may be of any one political party.

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of correspondence, memoranda and executive nominations. Primary correspondents include the President and White House staff Dwight L. Chapin, General Alexander M. Haig, Jr.,  David N. Parker, Robert Finch, Peter G. Peterson, General Brent G. Scowcroft and Jerry H. Jones.

The terms "Executive" [Ex] and "General" [Gen] are used before the code FG 363 to identify the source of the materials within a specific file. The files designated [Ex] are communications between national, foreign, state and local governments and their agencies, members of Congress and other prominent people. Files designated [Gen] are communications between government officials and private citizens, institutions and other private interests.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online