FG 136 (Four Corners Regional Commission) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)


These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear measurement of materials:  < 1 in.
  • Number of pages:   80
Organizational Note

The Four Corners Regional Commission was established August 26, 1965, under the authority of the Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1965, P. L. 89-136, as amended. It functions within the jurisdiction of the Office of Regional Economic coordination, U.S. Department of Commerce.

The Four Corners Regional Commission was established to undertake economic development programs of a regional scale with special emphasis on those factors in which the region lags behind the nation. The Commission is empowered to provide technical assistance to support demonstrations, training, planning and research; and is authorized to provide funds to initiate and supplement the basic federal grant-in-aid programs designed to enhance economic development in the region. Action programs are conducted by the Commission in the fields of human resources, commercial and economic development, environmental protection and natural protection, natural resources planning and government services. The Commission serves a region consisting of 92 counties in Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah.

The Commission is composed of one federal member, the Federal Cochairman, who is appointed by the President and the governors or their designees of the 4 states that make up the Four Corners Region. The state representatives select one of their numbers to be the state Cochairman.

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of correspondence, memorandums, telegrams, press releases and referrals. Primary correspondents include the President and White House Staff Kenneth Cole, John Ehrlichman, John Campbell, and James H. Falk. These records also contain correspondence from W. D. Brevard, Chairman of the Four Corners Regional Commission and John R. Williams, Governor of Arizona.

The terms "Executive" [Ex] and "General" [Gen] are used before the code FG 136 to identify the source of the materials within a specific file. The files designated [Ex] are communications between national, foreign, state and local governments and their agencies, members of Congress and other prominent people. Files designated [Gen] are communications between government officials and private citizens, institutions and other private interests.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online