FG 126 (Federal Maritime Commission) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)


These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear measurement of materials:   7 in.
  • Approximate number of pages:   1,120
Organizational Note

The Federal Maritime Commission was established by Reorganization Plan 7, effective August 12, 1961, as an independent agency to administer the functions and discharge the regulatory authorities under the Shipping Act, 1916; Merchant Marine Act, 1920; Intercoastal Shipping Act, 1933; and Merchant Marine Act, 1936. The Commission was established for the purpose of protecting the interests of the public by regulation of waterborne shipping in the foreign and domestic offshore commerce of the United States.

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of correspondence, memorandums, reports, press releases, and a bound volume. Primary correspondents are the President, Peter Flanigan, Darrell M. Trent, Anne Armstrong, John Harllee, James V. Day, and Helen Delich Bentley. Topics include Commission activities; decisions and proceedings; agreements filed with the Commission; periodic updates of significant matters considered by the Commission; and appointments to and resignations from the Commission. Oversize attachments 7267 and 10211 have been processed and integrated into the collection.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online