FG 367 (Ad Hoc Advisory Group on Commonwealth Status (Puerto Rico)) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)


These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear measurement of materials:   < 1 in.
  • Number of pages:   127
Organizational Note

The Ad Hoc Advisory Group on Commonwealth Status was established jointly by the President and Governor Hernandez Colon of Puerto Rico on September 27, 1973. It is a presidential advisory committee and functions within the jurisdiction of the Executive Office of the President.

The Ad Hoc Advisory Group was established to inquire into the extent to which the statutory laws and administrative regulations of the United States should apply in Puerto Rico, toward the goal of furthering the development of maximum self-government for Puerto Rico within the framework of a commonwealth based on a common defense, a common market, a common currency and the indissoluble link of United States citizenship.

The Advisory Group consists of 14 members, seven appointed by the President and seven appointed by Governor of Puerto Rico.

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of correspondence, memorandums, and executive nominations. Primary correspondents include the President and White House staff Kenneth R. Cole, Jr., Jerry H. Jones, Richard M. Fairbanks, General Alexander M. Haig Jr., David N. Parker, David Wimer and John Vickerman.

The terms "Executive" [Ex] and "General" [Gen] are used before the code FG 367 to identify the source of the materials within a specific file. The files designated [Ex] are communications between national, foreign, state and local governments and their agencies, members of Congress and other prominent people. Files designated [Gen] are communications between government officials and private citizens, institutions and other private interests.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online