FG 350 (Interagency Classification Review Committee) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)


These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear measurement of materials:   2 in.
  • Number of pages:   216
Organizational Note

The Interagency Classification Committee (ICRC) was established by Executive Order No. 11652 dated March 10, 1972, as amended by Executive Order No. 11714 dated April 24, 1973. The Committee is an interagency committee, which advises the National Security Council, Executive Office of the President.

Executive Order No. 11652 established new criteria and standards for classification of government materials. The Committee was established to review and take action to ensure compliance with the provisions of the Order and implementing directives issued by the President on classification and declassification of national security information and material. It receives and acts on suggestions and complaints from persons both within and without the government concerning the Order, making sure that appropriate action is taken by the Department involved. Each Department dealing with classified material is required to give a copy of its regulation on the subject to the Committee

The Committee is composed of a Chairman, designated by the President; the Archivist of the United States and representatives of the U.S. Department of Defense, Justice and State, the Atomic Energy Commission and the National Security Council Staff.

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of correspondence, memorandums, executive orders and press releases. Primary correspondents include the President and White House staff, Tod R. Hullin, David Young, Kenneth R. Cole, John D. Ehrlichman, David N. Parker, Fred V. Malek, Richard C. Tufaro, Alexander M. Haig, Brent Scowcroft. Anne Armstrong, Henry Kissinger, Jonathan Rose, W. Richard Howard, Charles Colson, Gerald Warren, Herbert Klein, James Cavanaugh and John D. Eisenhower.

The terms "Executive" [Ex] and "General" [Gen] are used before the code FG 350 to identify the source of the materials within a specific file. The files designated [Ex] are communications between national, foreign, state and local governments and their agencies, members of Congress and other prominent people. Files designated [Gen] are communications between government officials and private citizens, institutions and other private interests.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online