FG 1-1 (Delegations of Authority) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)

Scope and Content Note

Filed in subject category FG 1-1 are materials concerning the delegation of the President's authority. Frequent correspondents include: President Nixon, John Brown III, John Campbell, Kenneth Cole, Jeane Davis, John Ehrlichman, Edwin Harper, Harry Hopkins, Richard Fairbanks, Leonard Garment, David Gergen, Henry Kissinger, Herbert Klein, Thomas Korologos, Robert Mayo, Gen. Brent Scowcroft, William Timmons, Rose Mary Woods and Ronald Ziegler.

The Executive file category within this subject category includes the correspondence of the President, White House Staff and Administration officials with heads of state, members of Congress, political party members, personal acquaintances and business, patriotic and special interest organizations. The General file category mainly contains correspondence of the President and White House Staff with members of Congress, business, patriotic and special interest organizations and the general public. Many of the same subjects and correspondents, however, may be found in both files.

Related materials may be found in the following subject categories:

DI Disasters

FA Federal Aid

FE 6 Executive Orders

FO 3-2 Mutual Security

FO 4-1 Balance of Payments

FO 9 Treaties


This category includes delegations of authority for the use of Presidential signature facsimiles, the Presidential seal, certificates, quotations, photos, posters and medallions, treaties, Executive Orders and routine authorizations for government agencies to carry out functions assigned to the President by legislation.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online