FG 201 (President's Committee on the National Medal of Science) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)


These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear measurement of materials:   1.5 in.
  • Number of pages:   126
Organizational Note

The President's Committee on the National Medal of Science was established under Executive Order 10961 in August 1959. Its function is to review recommendations for the National Medal of Science award that are made by the National Academy of Science and other representatives of the scientific and engineering field. The Committee reviews these nominations and submits a list of recommendations to the President. The Committee is composed of twelve members appointed by the President as well as the President's Science Advisor, the president of the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering and the Chair of the National Science Board who all serve as ex officio members.

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of memorandums, correspondence and press releases.

Primary correspondents include Peter Flanigan, William J. Hopkins, William G. Rosen, Roland Elliot, William Timmons and Harry S. Flemming.

Topics include nominations to the committee, and Executive Orders 11502 and 11734.
The terms Executive and General used before the file designation FG 201 generally determine the source of the material. Items designated Executive are communications between Commission members or staff and the President, White House staff members, Federal officials, members of Congress, and other prominent people. Items designated General are communications between White House staff members and the general public or a Congressional representative writing on behalf of a constituent.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online