Conversation 058-005

On May 20, 1971, President Richard M. Nixon, Vice President Spiro T. Agnew, and bipartisan Congressional leaders and staffers, including William P. Rogers, Melvin R. Laird, Adm. Thomas H. Moorer, Gerard C. Smith, Henry A. Kissinger, Clark MacGregor, William E. Timmons, Ronald L. Ziegler, Herbert G. Klein, John A. Scali, Hugh Scott, Allen J. Ellender, J. William Fulbright, John C. Stennis, Margaret Chase Smith, George D. Aiken, Robert P. Griffin, Milton R. Young, Robert C. Byrd, Michael J. ("Mike") Mansfield, [Thomas] Hale Boggs, Leslie Arends, William S. Mailliard, Frank T. Bow, F. Edward Hébert, Gerald R. Ford, Dr. Thomas E. ("Doc") Morgan, Thomas P. ("Tip") O'Neill, Jr., and George H. Mahon, met in the Cabinet Room of the White House from 10:15 am to 11:05 am. The Cabinet Room taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 058-005 of the White House Tapes.

Audio is being processed, please check at a later time.

Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log