Conversation 763-019

On August 7, 1972, President Richard M. Nixon and Virginia Democratic leaders, including Leslie D. Campbell, Jr., Warren Davis, William M. Dudley, Walther B. Fidler, Calvin W. Fowler, Elmon T. Gray, Frederick T. Gray, Charles W. Gunn, Jr., Edward E. Lane, Paul W. Manns, George N. McMath, B.R. Middleton, William F. Parkerson, Jr., Lacy E. Putney, Randall O. Reynolds, Eleanor P. Sheppard, D. French Slaughter, Jr., W. Roy Smith, Edward E. Willey, J. D. Stetson Coleman, John O. Marsh, Jr., J. Smith Ferebee, Richard T. Short, James F. Olmsted, Richard D. Obenshain, Thomas R. Glass, Fitzgerald Bemiss, Mills E. Godwin, Russell M. Carneal, Robert B. Ball, Sr., and Herbert Bateman, as well as Stephen B. Bull, Herbert Bateman, as well as the White House photographer, met in the Oval Office of the White House from 3:01 pm to 3:45 pm. The Oval Office taping system captured this recording, which is known as Conversation 763-019 of the White House Tapes.

Audio file
Start Date Time
End Date Time
Tape Number
White House Tapes: Sound Recordings of Meetings and Telephone Conversations of the Nixon Administration, 1971-1973
Collection URL
Tape Subject Log