FG 76 (Appalachian Regional Commission) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)


These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear feet of materials:  1.5
  • Number of pages:  2,880
Organizational Note

The Appalachian Regional Commission, a joint Federal-State partnership concerned with the economic, physical, and social development of the 13-State Appalachian region, was established by the Appalachian Regional Development Act of 1965 (79 Stat. 5; 40 U.S.C. App. 1).

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of correspondence, memorandums, reports, transmittal memorandums, telegrams, and maps. Primary correspondents include President Nixon, John D. Whisman, Daniel Moynihan, Bryce Harlow, Clark Tyler, Stephen Bull, John Price, Peter Flanigan, John Whitaker, Ken Cole, Ed Harper, Arthur Burns, William Timmons, John Ehrlichman, John Waters, Donald Whitehead, Orville Lerch, Winfield Dunn, and Commission members.

Topics include the Commission's Program Management Development System, the Appalachian Development Highway System, the Economic Development Administration, rural development revenue sharing, the Commission's reauthorization, its strengths and weaknesses, and its communication with Federal agencies.

The terms Executive and General used before the file designation FG 76 generally determine the source of the material. Items designated Executive are communications between the President, White House staff members, Federal officials, members of Congress, and other prominent people. Items designated General are communications between White House staff members and the general public.

The Oversize Attachments for this collection, numbered 556, 1072, 1521, 5779, and 10592, have also been processed and will be made available to researchers upon request.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online