FG 370 (American Revolution Bicentennial Administration) (White House Central Files: Subject Files)


These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear measurement of materials:   5 in.
  • Number of pages:   963
Organizational Note

American Revolution Bicentennial Administration

The American Revolution Bicentennial Commission was established by P. L.  89-491,  dated July 4, 1966; P. L. 93-179 restructured the Commission and changed its name to American Revolution Bicentennial Administration, effective January 10, 1974. It is an independent agency of the Executive Branch of the government. 

The Administration was established to prepare the master calendar of events of local, state, national and international significance which will take place between March 1975 and December 31, 1976; and to provide a central clearinghouse for information and co-ordination regarding dates, events, places, documents, artifacts and personalities of Bicentennial, historical and commemorative significance. The Administration also develops standards for various programs and projects associated with the commemoration, coordinates non-federal programs with appropriate federal programs, provides for competitions and similar projects relating to the Bicentennial and provides for the preparation, distribution, dissemination, exhibition and sale of commemorative medals and other historical commemorative and informational materials and objects which contribute to public information, awareness and interest in the Bicentennial.

The Board is composed of 11members as follow: Two members of the House of Representatives, one from each party; two Senators, one from each party; the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the ARBA Advisory Council; the Secretary of the Interior and three members appointed by the President from officers or staff of State Bicentennial Commissions. The Chairman of the Policy Board will be elected by a majority vote of the membership.

American Revolution Bicentennial Advisory Council

The Council was established December 11, 1973 under the authority of P. L. 93-179. It is a public advisory committee functioning within the jurisdiction of the American Revolution Bicentennial Administration.

The Council advises both Administrator and the Board of American Revolution Bicentennial about activities celebrating America’s Bicentennial.

The Council consists of 25 members appointed by the President. Membership is to be broadly representative of the nations peoples, including youth, women, elders, racial and ethnic minorities, artists, craftsmen and the learned professions. The Chairman is elected by the membership.

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of correspondence, memorandums, press releases and executive nominations. Primary correspondents include the President and White House staff Gen. Brent G. Scowcroft, Charles W. Colson, Henry A. Kissinger, Frederic V.  Malek, General Alexander M. Haig Jr., William Timmons, Max L. Friedersdorf, Roland L. Elliott, Leonard Garment, Stephen B. Bull, Terence O’Donnell, Ronald L. Ziegler, David N. Parker, Jerry H. Jones and Mrs. Tobin (Anne L.) Armstrong.

The terms "Executive" [Ex] and "General" [Gen] are used before the code FG 370 to identify the source of the materials within a specific file. The files designated [Ex] are communications between national, foreign, state and local governments and their agencies, members of Congress and other prominent people. Files designated [Gen] are communications between government officials and private citizens, institutions and other private interests.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online