Richard Nixon Presidential Library and Museum
The Life The Times Virtual Library The Museum For Kids For Teachers For Researchers Plan Your Visit News & Events About Us Plan Your Event
FG 6-23 (National Energy Office)

Getting Started


Guide to Holdings

Collections by Subject

Textual Materials

White House Tapes

Audiovisual Materials

Oral Histories

Research Bibliography

Links to Learning

Get Copies

Scope and Content Note

Filed under the category FG (Federal Government-Organizations) are materials pertaining to matters such as the establishment, disestablishment, organization, reorganization, audits, inspection, investigations, location, relocation, regulations, reports, appointments, and endorsements to top positions.

The terms Executive and General used before the code FG 6-23 and all subdivisions thereunder generally determine the source of the materials thus coded. Items designated Executive are communications among national, foreign, state and local governments and their agencies, members of Congress, and other prominent people. Items designated General are communications between government officials and private citizens, institutions, and other private interests. The topics filed under each category are generally similar.

Related subject categories in the White House Central Files include:

Staff Member and Office Files:

  • Charles D. DiBona
  • John D. Ehrlichman
  • George P. Shultz

Subject Files:

CM 29 Commodities, Petroleum and Coal Products
HE 9 Sanitary Services - Pollution Control
FE 6 Executive Orders
FG 6-15 Domestic Council
FG 6-25 Energy Policy Office
FG 6-26 Federal Energy Office
FG 38 Office of the Vice President
UT Utilities


FG 6-23 contains materials pertaining to the National Energy Office (NEO), which was established by Executive Order 11712 in the Executive Office of the President, effective April 18, 1973. A special energy committee was created, composed of John D. Ehrlichman, Henry A. Kissinger, George P. Shultz, and Charles J. DiBona, as administrator, to formulate and coordinate energy policies at the Presidential level. This office was abolished by Executive Order on June 29, 1973 and its functions were transferred to the Energy Policy Office. Principal correspondents include the President, Charles J. DiBona, Robert D. Linder, Craig Gosden, John C. Sawhill, and Stanley Ebner.

The types of documents filed under FG 6-23 are original incoming letters and memoranda, carbons and electrostatic copies of outgoing letters and memoranda, transmittal notes, draft copies of Executive Order 11712, and memoranda of meetings.

The Executive file contains materials concerning the organization, administration policies and programs of the National Energy Office. Topics include appointments, organization of energy policy development and policy implementation, Executive Order 11712, and a proposed amendment of Executive Order 11712.

The General file contains correspondence between NEO officials and the general public and invitations to address various civic organizations.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online



Home Contact Us FAQs Sitemap

The Nixon Library and Museum is part of the Presidential Libraries system administered by the National Archives
and Records Administration
, a Federal agency. View our Privacy Statement. View our Accessibility Statement.