Richard Nixon Presidential Library and Museum
The Life The Times Virtual Library The Museum For Kids For Teachers For Researchers Plan Your Visit News & Events About Us Plan Your Event
FG 379 (President's Committee on East-West Trade Policy)

Getting Started


Guide to Holdings

Collections by Subject

Textual Materials

White House Tapes

Audiovisual Materials

Oral Histories

Research Bibliography

Links to Learning

Get Copies

These Presidential historical materials are in the custody of the National Archives and Records Administration under the provisions of Title I of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (44 U.S.C. 2111 note), and implementing regulations. In accordance with the act and regulations, archivists reviewed the file group to identify private or personal as well as non-historical items. Such items, if found, have been withdrawn for return to the individual with primary proprietary or commemorative interest in them.

Materials covered by this act have been archivally processed and are described in this finding aid. Items that are security classified or otherwise restricted under the act and regulations have been removed and placed in a closed file. A Document Withdrawal Record (NA Form 14021) has been placed in the front of each folder describing each withdrawn item. Employees of the National Archives will review periodically the unclassified portions of closed materials for the purpose of opening those which no longer require restrictions. Classified documents may be reviewed for declassification under authority of Executive Order 13526 in response to Mandatory Review Request (NA Form 14020) submitted by the researcher.

  • Linear measurement of materials:   < 1 in.
  • Number of pages:   30

Organization Information

The President’s Committee on East-West Trade Policy was established March 6, 1973, by the President as the East-West Policy Committee; redesignated under the current name June 25, 1974, under the authority of Executive Order 11789. It is an interagency advisory committee under the sponsorship of the Executive Office of the President.

The Committee was established to handle negotiations of major trade initiatives.

The Committee membership consists of the Counselor to the President for Economic Policy, who serves as Chairman; Secretary of the Treasury; Secretary of Commerce; Director of the Office of Management and Budget; Executive Director of the Council of International Economic Policy; and the Special Representative for Trade Negotiations.

Scope and Content Note

The records consist of memorandums, correspondence and executive orders. Principal correspondents include the President and White House staff, [David] Kenneth Rush, Warren K. Hendriks, Jerry H. Jones, Fred J. Buzhardt, William E. Timmons, Geoffrey C. Shepard, David R. Gergen, Robert D. Linder, Chief Executive Clerk and Henry A. Kissinger, Secretary of State.

The terms "Executive" [Ex] and "General" [Gen] are used before the code FG 379 to identify the source of the materials within a specific file. The files designated [Ex] are communications between national, foreign, state and local governments and their agencies, members of Congress and other prominent people. Files designated [Gen] are communications between government officials and private citizens, institutions and other private interests.

Folder Title List

Not yet available online



Home Contact Us FAQs Sitemap

The Nixon Library and Museum is part of the Presidential Libraries system administered by the National Archives
and Records Administration
, a Federal agency. View our Privacy Statement. View our Accessibility Statement.