Richard Nixon Presidential Library Contested Materials Collection Folder List

Box Number	Folder Number	Document Date	No Date	Subject	Document Type	Document Description
16	3	12/18/1972		Campaign	Memo	From: Maurice H. Stans To: The President RE: Recognition of Principal Members of Finance Organization. 6 pgs.
16	3	12/18/1972		Campaign	Memo	From: Maurice H. Stans To: The President RE: New Chairman for the Republican National Finance Committee. 1 pg.

Monday, February 07, 2011 Page 1 of 1

FINANCE COMMITTEE FOR THE RE-ELECTION OF THE PRESIDENT

1701 PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE N.W. • WASHINGTON, D. C. 20006 • (202) 333-0920

MAURICE H. STANS CHAIRMAN December 18, 1972

THE PRESIDENT HAS SEEN ..

MEMORANDUM FOR:

THE PRESIDENT

FROM:

MAURICE H. STANS

SUBJECT:

Recognition of Principal Members of Finance Organization

In a separate memorandum I have suggested a recognition plan for major contributors, according to the size of their contributions. I suggest that a similar plan be devised for those who held key positions in the Finance Organization and devoted their time rather than money.

On the attached schedule I have indicated my suggestions as to the rating that should be given as to value of work performed, equating them with the classes of contributions made in money terms. In some cases an individual was both a worker and contributor, and I have taken that into account in rating them.

Maurice H. Stans

Attachment

CATEGORY I

Mr. Leonard Firestone

Mr. Herbert W. Kalmbach

Mr. Gustave L. Levy

Mr. Lawrence Lewis, Jr.

Mr. David Packard

Mr. John W. Rollins

Mr. Taft B. Schreiber

CATEGORY II

Mr. Kenneth H. Dahlberg

Mr. Edward W. Carter

Mr. Thomas W. Evans

Mr. W. S. Farish, III

Mr. Harold H. Helm

Mr. J. Walter Jones

Mr. Darius N. Keaton

Mr. Bernard J. Lasker

Mr. William C. Liedtke, Jr.

Mr. William C. Messinger

Mr. Jeremiah Milbank, Jr.

Mr. Lee R. Nunn

The Honorable Harold B. Scott

Mr. Ben Voth

The Honorable C. Langhorne Washburn

Mr. David K. Wilson

Mr. Don L. Wolfsberger

CATEGORY III

Mr. Robert H. Allen

Mr. Paul E. Barrick

Mr. Walter R. Beardsley

Mr. Hal C. Byrd

Mr. O. C. Carmichael, Jr.

Mr. W. Sam Carpenter III

Mr. George Champion, Jr.

Mrs. Anna Chennault

General Lucius D. Clay

Mr. Edward N. Cole

Mr. Donald C. Dayton

Mr. Stanley Ebner

Admiral Harry Felt, Ret.

Mr. Benjamin Fernandez

Mr. William H. G. Fitzgerald

Mr. Leonard Forsgren

The Honorable Daniel W. Hofgren

Mr. William H. Houston III

Mr. E. Bronson Ingram

Mr. Erik Jonsson

Mr. W. W. Keeler

Mr. Frank C. P. McGlinn

Mr. Justus C. Martin, Jr.

Mr. William Messinger

Mr. Otto N. Miller

Mr. Dillard Munford

Mr. Daniel S. Parker

Mr. Louis F. Polk, Jr.

Mr. Scott L. Probasco

Mr. Harry A. Richardson, Jr.

Mr. Alex K. Sample, Jr.

Mr. L. J. Schaub

Mr. John H. Schuler

Mr. Montgomery Shepard

Mr. Hugh Sloan, Jr.

Honorable Edward J. Stack

Mr. Robert D. Stuart, Jr.

General Leif J. Sverdrup

Mr. Pier F. Talenti

Mr. George H. Walker III

Mr. Lloyd B. Waring

Mr. Newell P. Weed, Jr.

Mr. J. H. Williams

Mr. Arthur M. Wood

Mr. Richard Wright

CATEGORY IV

The Honorable Thomas Bolack

Mr. Peter Bove

Mr. Keith L. Brown

Mr. William H. T. Bush

Mr. Robert C. Davidson

Mr. T. Cooper Evans

Mr. George J. Grabner

Mr. Edward P. Harding

Mr. Crawford Johnson III

Mr. Logan Johnston

Mr. John Latshaw

Mr. Frank P. Middleton

Mr. F. Stanton Moyer

Mrs. Ogden Phipps

Mr. Jaime Pieras, Jr.

Mr. Willard E. Robertson

Mr. Paul C. Schorr III

Mr. Roland Q. Seward

Mrs. Albert H. Swanke

Senator Coe Swobe

Mr. Norfleet Turner

CATEGORY V

Mr. Olof V. Anderson

Mr. Claude Bekins

Mr. Milton H. Blakemore

Mr. T. A. Bonnell

Mr. Berkeley G. Burrell

Dr. David R. Congdon

Mr. Ellis R. Ivory

Mr. C. C. Jackson, Jr.

Mr. John H. Kauffmann

Honorable Paul Laxalt

Mr. Charles S. Mechem, Jr.

Dr. Arturo Olivares

Mr. Odell Pollard

Mr. John Remer

Mr. Burr S. Swezey

Mr. Eldon R. Ulmer

CATEGORY VI

Mr. Jerome Anderson

Mr. Thomas Clawson

Mr. Robert R. Beffie

Mr. George W. Knowles, Jr.

Mr. A. Lewis Burridge

Mr. A. A. Mayer

Mr. Eric M. Buzza

Mr. William D. Mounger

Mr. Patrick Calhoun

Mr. James C. Zimmerman

CATEGORY VII

Mr. Harmon H. Watt

Mr. Delvin N. J. Welter

ř

Spencer Shore (Ohio Republican Finance Chairman)

Herb Brownell

THE PRESIDENT HAS SEEN..

Wiley Buchanan

Del de Windt (Cleveland Republican Finance Chairman)

Jack Eckerd (Florida)

Governor Evans (Washington)

William Fisher (Iowa)

Al Hickerson (Colorado)

Phil Hoffman (Johnson & Johnson)

Lamar Hunt

Crosby Kemper, Jr. (Missouri)

Governor Knowles (Wisconsin)

George Love

D. K. Ludwig

Dan Lufkin

Robert McCullogh (California)

J. Irwin Miller

William Miller (Textron)

Governor Arch Moore (West Virginia)

William Paley (CBS)

Lester Ruwe

Governor Sargent (Massachusetts)

Norton Simon

Walter Thayer

Robert Uiehlein (Schlitz)

J. H. Whitney

 ${\tt Xerox} \ {\tt Corporation}$

PH OW

FINANCE COMMITTEE FOR THE RE-ELECTION OF THE PRESIDENT

1701 PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE N.W. . WASHINGTON, D. C. 20006 . (202) 333-0920

MAURICE H. STANS CHAIRMAN

MEMORANDUM FOR:

December 18, 1972

THE PRESIDENT HAS SEEN ..

THE PRESIDENT

FROM: MAURICE H. STANS

SUBJECT: New Chairman for the Republican
National Finance Committee

As I did after the 1968 election, it is my intention to resign as Chairman of the Republican National Finance Committee on January 18, 1973. I will continue as Chairman of the Finance Committee to Re-Elect the President until a somewhat later date, in order to clear up its accounts and reports, and also to follow the course of the pending litigation.

This raises the question of my successor as Chairman of the Republican National Finance Committee. Jerry Milbank has recommended Pat Wilson, who is presently Vice Chairman. He is able and would have enough time to handle the job, which has always been on a part-time basis.

Some questions have arisen, however, as to the closeness of his relationship to Bill Brock. Also, it has been indicated at one time that John Rollins would take the assignment if he were asked to do so by you.

Herb Kalmbach has suggested that we consider Bill Middendorf, who will be returning to the United States from his post as Ambassador to the Netherlands around the end of the year. I agree with Herb that if Middendorf would take it he would be the most effective of anyone that could be considered, and I do not believe that he has any ties to potential Presidential candidates. Bill is a very dynamic person, has done an excellent job as Ambassador, and before that was Treasurer of the Republican National Finance Committee for some years.

Maurica H Stans